The Register® — Biting the hand that feeds IT

Comments on: Hackers turn Cleveland into malware server

Vulnerable 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 02:55 GMT

Coat

"Ullrich said he was unsure where the vulnerability lies in the latest round of attacks."

Hope he, or someone, puts the fix on soon.

In the meantime, I for one welcome our new malware injecting, website hacking, game password stealing overlords.

>coat >door >taxi >home >bed >covers >cringe

Looks like Chinese, sounds like Chinese..... 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 03:12 GMT

Pirate

"indicating the attackers were fluent in Chinese"

Is this the new PC way of saying: Chinese criminals?

what about us... 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 07:22 GMT

Happy

...bearded linux users.... they didn't think of that :)

now, if you'd all be so kind as to leave MS in the distance behind, the world can be a better place for all.

that Chinese-based registrar 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 07:52 GMT

Alert

Most of the recent wave of spam I've seen was connected to sites registered by this alleged "registrar". Maybe we should start redirecting all of that spam to a Chinese Embassy somewhere?

"fluent in Chinese" 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 09:40 GMT

Oh yeah? And I'm fluent in American.

American? 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 11:08 GMT

American? I didn't know that was a language, but there again, I always thought that the language spoken by the Chinese was mandarin...

Don't talk to that registrar.. 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 12:38 GMT

Unhappy

The written language is Chinese. The spoken languages are whatever-- Mandarin is just one. It's a great cultural strength that the written language is available, more or less, to all literates, whatever they speak. So an evil registrar with website in Chinese has pretty much the reach as an evil registrar with website in English.

Block the malware 

Posted Tuesday 8th January 2008 16:05 GMT

Over on The Other Site That Shall Not Be Named, someone posted a way to prevent yourself getting infected.

1. Use Firefox

2. Add the Adblock Plus extension (worthwhile regardless)

3, Add this string as a new filter in Adblock Plus

http://*.uc8010.com/*

Let us all know if you get infected anyway.

A way that's a pain but works with more browsers than just FF (on XP) 

Posted Wednesday 9th January 2008 07:10 GMT

Alert

These will work for XP unless there's a hostname other than uc8010.com and www.uc8010.com in use.

1. Open the file \windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts on your main Windows drive (usually C:)

2. in the left-hand column, put something unrouteable, like 10.0.0.2 or better yet 127.0.0.2

3. hit tab, maybe a couple of times

4. in the new column, put uc8010.com

5. tab over again

6. put in www.uc8010.com

6b. you can put a comment in if you want, anything after '#'' is disregarded to the end of the line

7. save the file

8. flush your DNS (ipconfig /flushdns at the command line) and restart your net apps, or reboot the system

I understand there's more to editing your hosts file on Vista, but I haven't done that so GIYF if you choose to go this route on that.

Unrouteable addresses 

Posted Wednesday 9th January 2008 17:52 GMT

Boffin

192.0.2.0/24 (192.0.2.1 to 192.0.2.254) is guaranteed unrouteable.