Mountain View has added an "Ignore" option to its gestating Google+, just at the point when interest in the company's social network seemed to be on the wane.
Google+ certainly isn't getting the kind of love from tech pundits that it experienced in the first few weeks of its creation. Our special undercover correspondent ensconced inside those walls reports that inertia has set in.
But then, it is the summer holiday season.
Google said today that it had added a special feature to Google+ to allow users to hide stuff being shared – presumably by losers, bores and psychos.
The snub button allows people you're not interested in networking with to still have some limited access.
"When a person adds you to a circle, you might not be interested in what they have say, but blocking them may seem too harsh. Instead, you can ignore them, which will limit what they can share with you," it explained.
Apparently, any of the supposed 27 million people still actually inhabiting the underwhelming world of Google+ can ignore someone via notifications or the "incoming stream"...
Those snubbed rather than blocked will be removed from the "people who have added you" list.
"New content will no longer be delivered to your Incoming stream, and content they've already shared will be removed from Incoming," said Google. "Their mentions of you won't appear in your stream and you won't receive a notification for them."
But they can STILL tag the snubber in a photo, comment about that person on public posts and add them to "circles".
If all that content-fiddling sounds like a total irritation, users can simply block any stalkers they deem unworthy of their attention. Ouch. ®