Arthur C Clarke award won by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Children of Time features talking space spiders

The book Children of Time by British sci-fi author Adrian Tchaikovsky has been announced as the winner of this year’s Arthur C Clarke award.

The award was established by Sir Arthur, who is considered one of the “Big Three” of influential science fiction writers, along with American authors Issac Asimov and Robert Heinlein.

Tchaikovsky’s book is about the last survivors escaping a dying Earth to find new life on a terraformed planet – and they are surprised to find it full of talking space spiders.

Andrew Butler, chair of the judges, praised the book and said “it takes the reader’s sympathies and phobias, and plays with them masterfully on an epic and yet human scale.”

Tchaikovsky’s win coincides with the 30th anniversary of the Arthur C Clarke award. Tom Hunter, the award director, celebrated the event with a new announcement.

Self-published books will now be considered for the award. Science fiction stories will no longer need to be represented by publishers, which opens up the field for amateur science fiction writers and enthusiasts.

The change reflects the shifting culture of publishing. One title on this year's shortlist, The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers, was spawned from a Kickstarter campaign before it was picked up by Hodder & Stoughton.

The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year, with Tchaikovsky winning £2,016.

Children of Time was Tchaikovsky’s first venture into science fiction. He is best known for his fantasy books, the Shadow of the Apt series. Tchaikovsky writes books in his spare time and works as a lawyer in Leeds.

The Arthur C Clarke award ceremony took place four days before the Hugo Award, the most prestigious science fiction and fantasy award in the US. All four awards for books at the Hugo Award were won by women after it was plagued by claims, made by the group Sad Puppies, that it advanced a “niche, academic, overtly to the left in ideology and flavour” viewpoint.

The best novel prize was won by N.K Jemison for The Fifth Season; the best short story prize went to Naomi Kritzer for Cat Pictures Please; whilst the best novella award was won by Nnedi Okorafor for Binti. The best novelette gong went to Hao Jingfang for Folding Beijing. ®

Other stories you might like

  • Will Lenovo ever think beyond hardware?
    Then again, why develop your own software à la HPE GreenLake when you can use someone else's?

    Analysis Lenovo fancies its TruScale anything-as-a-service (XaaS) platform as a more flexible competitor to HPE GreenLake or Dell Apex. Unlike its rivals, Lenovo doesn't believe it needs to mimic all aspects of the cloud to be successful.

    While subscription services are nothing new for Lenovo, the company only recently consolidated its offerings into a unified XaaS service called TruScale.

    On the surface TruScale ticks most of the XaaS boxes — cloud-like consumption model, subscription pricing — and it works just like you'd expect. Sign up for a certain amount of compute capacity and a short time later a rack full of pre-plumbed compute, storage, and network boxes are delivered to your place of choosing, whether that's a private datacenter, colo, or edge location.

    Continue reading
  • Intel is running rings around AMD and Arm at the edge
    What will it take to loosen the x86 giant's edge stranglehold?

    Analysis Supermicro launched a wave of edge appliances using Intel's newly refreshed Xeon-D processors last week. The launch itself was nothing to write home about, but a thought occurred: with all the hype surrounding the outer reaches of computing that we call the edge, you'd think there would be more competition from chipmakers in this arena.

    So where are all the AMD and Arm-based edge appliances?

    A glance through the catalogs of the major OEMs – Dell, HPE, Lenovo, Inspur, Supermicro – returned plenty of results for AMD servers, but few, if any, validated for edge deployments. In fact, Supermicro was the only one of the five vendors that even offered an AMD-based edge appliance – which used an ageing Epyc processor. Hardly a great showing from AMD. Meanwhile, just one appliance from Inspur used an Arm-based chip from Nvidia.

    Continue reading
  • NASA's Psyche mission: 2022 launch is off after software arrives late
    Launch window slides into 2023 or 2024 for asteroid-probing project

    Sadly for NASA's mission to take samples from the asteroid Psyche, software problems mean the spacecraft is going to miss its 2022 launch window.

    The US space agency made the announcement on Friday: "Due to the late delivery of the spacecraft's flight software and testing equipment, NASA does not have sufficient time to complete the testing needed ahead of its remaining launch period this year, which ends on October 11."

    While it appears the software and testbeds are now working, there just isn't enough time to get everything done before a SpaceX Falcon Heavy sends the spacecraft to study a metallic-rich asteroid of the same name.

    Continue reading

Biting the hand that feeds IT © 1998–2022