A common goal for European cyber security

Complying with the EU’s NIS2 Directive

Webinar It was growing threat levels and an increase in reported cybersecurity attacks since digitalization which pushed the European Union to introduce the original Network and Information Security (NIS) Directive in 2016.

The rules at the time went some way towards increasing the defence capabilities of member states, but it soon become apparent that an upgrade was needed to boost the cybersecurity of critical infrastructure too. Step forward the NIS2 directive, due to become law in October 2024 and affecting more than 160,000 companies under its jurisdiction, with a maximum fine of €10 million for non-compliance.

The new legislation expands the original NIS security requirements as well as the scope of covered organizations and sectors. It's designed to improve the security of supply chains for example, while simultaneously simplifying reporting obligations and enforcing more stringent measures and sanctions throughout the EU.

Needless to say, it's extremely important for organizations to prepare.

Join the Register's Tim Phillips on 28 February at 1pm GMT/8am ET/5am PT alongside Dr. Carsten Huth, Global Head of AppSec Advisory at application security testing firm Checkmarx and Reinier Landsman, Managing Director and Co-Founder at cyber and cloud security company Cert2Connect. Together they will explore the details of the new directive, highlight its relevant articles, and offer advice on how to comply with its mandates.

This is one you can't afford to miss. Sign up to watch our 'Understanding NIS2' webinar here and we'll send you a reminder when it's time to log on.

Sponsored by Checkmarx.

More about

More about

More about

TIP US OFF

Send us news