Worldwide Google services – from GCP to G Suite – hit with the outage stick

Not all users affected, but it's not a great start. Oh and Slack's out too. Good morning everyone

18 Reg comments Got Tips?

Updated Google cloud services across the world are having a nap, with multiple GCP products including App Engine, Cloud Storage, Cloud Logging and BigQuery down since 06:45 UTC (07:45 UK time).

The main issue appears to be with cloud infrastructure components, and Google Kubernetes Engine is also having problems. GKE clusters using node auto-provisioning are "becoming stuck during node version upgrades", the firm said in a recent update. The cloud giant has temporarily disabled node auto-upgrades.

By 07:56 UTC (08:56 UK time), the cloud crew said they were seeing a decrease in error rates and working on mitigation, but the problems are still lingering, as evidenced by multiple complaints across social media.

On the office side, the G Suite Status Dashboard drones have plastered the yellow traffic light stickers of non-productivity on the status page as world+dog heads into and out of its home office.

Let's face it, we never leave our home office.

As the UK enters its morning meetings and Australia tries to fire off its last messages of the day, Reg readers have also told us they're unable to send email, with one claiming they can't even log in into their Gmail account. Users on social media have reported "missing emails" and not being able upload files. The outages appear to be patchy, but worldwide at this point, although many will still find the platform is working for them.

Service disruptions are spread out across all of the cloud giant's key business productivity suite applications, including Gmail, Google Drive, Docs, Chat, Meet, Keep and Voice – all of which are covered by the G Suite Service Level Agreement.

Third-party tracker DownDetector traced complaints from thousands of users scattered across the geographies, with the ones in time zones in the daylight hours over-represented.

The G Suite issues appeared to begin at 5:09 UTC (6:09 UK time). At 07:21 UTC (8:21 UK time) the cloud 'n' ads giant admitted to "Gmail sending issues, Meet recording issues, Creating files issues in Drive, CSV user upload issues in Admin Console, Posting message issues in Google Chat" in a status page update. It said it would provide more information about the problem by 08:00 UTC (09:00 UK), but that deadline has since been pushed back several times.

The timing is especially poor as the world's office drones are having to contend with a concurrent Slack outage, which began at 5:13 UTC and was still ongoing at the time of publication. ®

Updated at 11:18 UTC to add

The G-Suite team has marked the issue "resolved", with GCP following shortly after. If that's not the case for you, let us know here.

The Reg understands a public incident report is in the works.

Updated at 12:22 UTC to add

A Google spokesperson told The Reg: "The problem with Gmail should be resolved. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience and continued support."

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR WEEKLY TECH NEWSLETTER


Biting the hand that feeds IT © 1998–2020